Sunday and new friends

For the past four years I have had the opportunity to serve with some of the most spectacular people ever.  They were with for me a year before Katie Grace was born, when she was born, and these 3 years after.  They have cried with me, laughed with me, believed for me, prayed with me, prayed for me, and loved me.    Needless to say I was little surprised when at the end of November, I sensed it was time for me to step away from my position as team pastor with the nursery.  It was a hard decision.   Leaving was the farthest thing from my mind.

One of my main reason for stepping down was Katie Grace.  I realized that she is stronger and relating to her environment more.  I realized it was time to share her.  It was time for her to build friendships and share in experiences with other kids and people.

We have gone to church two Sunday’s together as a family thus far into 2014.  The first Sunday, Katie Grace smiled as we strapped her into her car seat and drove home.

Today, our second Sunday, as I picked her up from her classroom at the nursery, this is what I got:

2014-01-19 10.32.38-1 2014-01-19 10.32.57-1 2014-01-19 10.33.08-1

 

Two pictures some of her new friends drew her in class and a craft.

My daughter made friends today.

My daughter who doesn’t walk, or talk, or really even look at people, made friends.  These two girls loved on my girl.  They loved on her the same way the nursery loved on me.

And although it was hard to get her up and going.  And she was having seizures in the car on the way to church.  It was worth it.

It was worth it for me to step down. It was worth for me to be up at 5:30 so we could get to church at 7:30 7:45.

A part of living life is showing up.  Katie Grace was telling me it was time for her to show up.  So I stepped down so I could support her showing up.  And God showed up for me.  In the artwork for two four year olds and the same nursery team.

And I know they will love me just as much from the outside of the door as they have loved me from inside the door.  Better yet this time, my daughter gets to be the one inside the door.

Leave a Reply

