Rockin the boat (Family Getaway Take 2)

Our last vacation attempt with Katie Grace did not go so well.  If you are new to this blog I will give you the short version.  We went on a weekend vacation that included me running a half marathon and then we ended up at the hospital with a collapsed lung.  Extending our “vacation” from a 4 day weekend to a 2 week hospital stay. It was our first attempt at a family getaway.  Although it didn’t have the outcome we would have preferred, we did it.

And we did it again. Me, my mom,  Charles, Isaac, my sister, my two nephews, one niece, my brother, his girlfriend, her two children and Katie Grace got on a houseboat.  I found this steal of a deal on Travelzoo for a three day, two night stay and just couldn’t pass it up.

In case you missed it in the slew of people I threw out there, Katie Grace stayed on a houseboat for 3 days.  I packed her up, and as much of her stuff I think the boat could handle and asked her to do life with us.  I wish I could tell you it was a super easy choice.  That Charles and I didn’t have to process through it and discuss about 15 million times.  It took many conversations though. Much verbage of our concerns, of is it worth it, can we really do it?? At some point in that processing Charles asked me: “Why are you so insistent on Katie Grace going on this house boat?”

I paused for a second, took a deep breath and said: “Its like the Parable of the Talents. I have this drive to invest what I have been given. It is a part of living while running. ”

Matthew 25:14-30English Standard Version (ESV)

The Parable of the Talents

14 “For it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants[a] and entrusted to them his property. 15 To one he gave five talents,[b] to another two, to another one, to each according to his ability. Then he went away. 16 He who had received the five talents went at once and traded with them, and he made five talents more. 17 So also he who had the two talents made two talents more. 18 But he who had received the one talent went and dug in the ground and hid his master’s money. 19 Now after a long time the master of those servants came and settled accounts with them. 20 And he who had received the five talents came forward, bringing five talents more, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me five talents; here I have made five talents more.’ 21 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant.[c] You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 22 And he also who had the two talents came forward, saying, ‘Master, you delivered to me two talents; here I have made two talents more.’ 23 His master said to him, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant. You have been faithful over a little; I will set you over much. Enter into the joy of your master.’ 24 He also who had received the one talent came forward, saying, ‘Master, I knew you to be a hard man, reaping where you did not sow, and gathering where you scattered no seed, 25 so I was afraid, and I went and hid your talent in the ground. Here you have what is yours.’ 26 But his master answered him, ‘You wicked and slothful servant! You knew that I reap where I have not sown and gather where I scattered no seed? 27 Then you ought to have invested my money with the bankers, and at my coming I should have received what was my own with interest. 28 So take the talent from him and give it to him who has the ten talents. 29 For to everyone who has will more be given, and he will have an abundance. But from the one who has not, even what he has will be taken away. 30 And cast the worthless servant into the

outer darkness. In that place there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.’

Each man above was handed something and was expected to do something with it.  The men who took risks and invested their talents, not only increased their talents and experiences but were rewarded by their master.  Our talents could look like anything.  A gift, a call, children, career, etc. etc. etc.  What are we doing to go after being risk takers in the places we have been given a charge to go after.   Are we…. me… you…. slowing down to look at our lives and say am I investing what I can here? Or am I afraid, thinking I better play it safe?  How easy would it have been to just keep KG at home.   To have her step out of our normal, and travel somewhere and then ask her to stay.  It’s risky.  We know…we did it a couple of months ago and that “investment” didn’t turn out as we expected. We decided though to not look at the lost expectations but the gain.  We shared in an experience…we gained a story to tell about her and who she is.  And on top of that her toes have touched the sandy beaches of Northern California.  Her lung was always going to collapse but her toes possibly would have never touched the sandy waters.

That is what living while running looks like for us.  That is what being a risk taker looks like for us.

So we did again.

We faced the unknown once again.

She LOVED it!

Isaac loved it!

 

IMG_0855.JPG

IMG_0861.JPG

IMG_0879.JPG

She smiled more in those three days then we had ever seen.

A reward greater then any!

Leave a Reply

